Effective July 1, 2023, adults 21+ may legally purchase cannabis products from Greenwave Dispensary.

Medical Cannabis FAQs

Yes, Greenwave Dispensary Maryland is a licensed Maryland Dispensary in District 29: Calvert & St. Mary’s Counties located at 10 Creston Lane Suite 4 Solomons, MD 20688

Greenwave Dispensary Maryland is only approved for medical cannabis and only serves medical cannabis patients at this time.

11am-8pm Monday-Saturday
11am-5pm Sunday

We carry medicines with a variety of delivery systems. Our inventory consists of unique strains of traditional marijuana for smoking and vaporizing, as well as tinctures for oral consumption. Our product line and selection is consistently changing to provide the latest popular varieties and exclusive strains that cannot be found at other dispensaries.

No, a patient does not need an ID card from MMCC to participate in the program. The patient must be registered with MMCC for a physician to provide a written certification for the patient. The patient will need a government-issued ID card (e.g., driver’s license or passport) for proof of identity when purchasing the medical cannabis at a licensed dispensary.

A legal patient may travel to any location in the state of Maryland (other than federal government property when in possession of medical cannabis). Possession of cannabis is a violation of federal law and Maryland residents should carefully read the current state statutes regarding the use of medical cannabis and be aware that taking cannabis across State lines is a federal offense. Cannabis is also illegal on federal government property. The State of Maryland laws cannot authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.

No more than 120 grams — or approximately four ounces, unless a provider makes a special determination that a patient needs more.

The General Assembly directed the Commission to determine the amount of medical cannabis that would constitute a 30-day supply. Medical cannabis and medical cannabis-infused products will vary in their cannabinoid profile and potencies. The Commission wanted to ensure that patients would be able to obtain sufficient medical cannabis each month to provide relief of their symptoms, and established 120 grams of usable cannabis (primarily dried flower) as a 30-day supply.

The Commission also recognized that medical cannabis-infused products could not be measured in the same way as usable cannabis, and set a limit of 36 grams of THC as a 30-day supply. Each batch of usable cannabis will state the THC quantity (expressed as a percentage). The dispensary will calculate the weight of the THC in each transaction of usable cannabis, and will not dispense medical cannabis-infused products in a 30 day period that exceeds the 36 gram limit.

Doctors are protected. Thousands of doctors around the nation have been writing recommendations to their patients to use medical cannabis pursuant to state laws since 1996, and have not been prosecuted. Beginning in 2009, the U.S. Department of Justice directed federal prosecutors not to prosecute physicians and patients who were complying with state law. In addition, in December 2014, Congress specifically barred the Department of Justice from spending any funds that interfere in the implementation of various states medical cannabis programs, and specifically included Maryland. Finally, in the only ruling by a high-level federal court regarding physicians recommending medical use of cannabis, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit affirmed an injunction blocking the government from interfering with the First Amendment rights of doctors and patients to speak to each other about medical cannabis, and for a doctor to recommend medical cannabis to their patient.

A patient needs an in-person visit with a registered physician with whom the patient has a “bona fide physician-patient relationship”. If the patient meets the physician’s criteria for treatment with medical cannabis, the physician will issue a written certification. The physician records the written certification on the Commission’s database.

Maryland law defines this term. Essentially it is a treatment or counseling relationship between a physician and patient in which the physician reviews the patient’s relevant medical records, completes an in-person assessment of the patient’s medical history and current medical condition, creates and maintains medically standardized records, expects to monitor patient program, and takes any medically indicated action to follow up.

The patient can go to any licensed dispensary to pick up medical cannabis. Some dispensaries will deliver medical cannabis to the patient’s home. The dispensary must check the Commission secure database to confirm that the patient has a “written certification” and confirm the patient’s identity. The dispensary will record how much medical cannabis has been dispensed to the patient.

After the doctor has examined the patient and the patient’s records, the physician may issue the patient a written certification.

Federal law (HIPAA) requires that we – along with physicians and dispensaries – protect patient privacy and confidentiality.​ Our database will meet HIPAA standards and protect patient confidentiality.

Any condition that is severe, for which other medical treatments have been ineffective, and if the symptoms “reasonably can be expected to be relieved” by the medical use of Cannabis. In addition, if the patient has a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition that causes severe loss of appetite, wasting, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures or severe or persistent muscle spasms, or glaucoma or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).

Yes, a patient ID card is optional. A patient ID card will cost $50.

A legal patient may travel to any location in the state of Maryland (other than federal government property when in possession of medical cannabis). Possession of cannabis is a violation of federal law and Maryland residents should carefully read the current state statutes regarding the use of medical cannabis and be aware that taking cannabis across State lines is a federal offense. Cannabis is also illegal on federal government property. The State of Maryland laws cannot authorize you to travel to other states, jurisdictions or countries with this medicine in your possession.

You can request an ID card when you receive your written certification or apply for one later.

There will be a process to apply for a replacement card. A replacement card will cost $100.

No more than 120 grams — or approximately four ounces, unless a physician makes a special determination that a patient needs more.

Yes, if the cannabis oil is produced by a Maryland-licensed processor.

Children who meet their physician’s criteria for treatment can become legal patients in Maryland. However, children must have a parent or guardian serve as a caregiver.

Veterans can obtain medical cannabis in the same way as other patients, but not from the Veterans Affairs health system. Veterans need to make sure that using medical cannabis will not disqualify them from Veterans Affairs health system procedures they might need.

The patient who changes their address should notify the Commission within 3 days.

A patient may obtain medical cannabis from a dispensary of their choice. The patient’s written certification will be recorded in the Commission’s database and can be confirmed by any licensed dispensary.

Patients do not have to disclose that they possess medical cannabis and do not have to consent to a search. However, if a search is conducted and medical cannabis is found, the patient should present their patient ID card or direct law enforcement to our database.

Medical cannabis will be available in forms, which can be vaporized which is not smoking, or as extracts, lotions, ointments, tinctures, etc. Some extracts can be added to foods at home. Edible cannabis products will not be available from dispensaries in Maryland.

Health insurers are not required to cover the cost of medical cannabis. Private health insurers are free under Maryland law to develop policies that will cover medical cannabis.

There are no fees unless a qualifying patient requests an ID card.​ Patients do not have to pay the Commission to register. Dispensaries do not have to pay the Commission to check that a patient has been issued a written certification.

Any person who lives in Maryland can participate in the program. A person from out-of-state who is in the state for the purpose of receiving medical care can be issued a written certification and obtain medical cannabis.

Maryland law does not prevent an employer from testing for use of cannabis (for any reason) or taking action against an employee who tests positive for use of cannabis (for any reason).

Are You Over 21?

per the Maryland Cannabis Administration

Please Enter Your Birthdate

You Must Be Over 21 To Proceed

Are You Over 18?

per the Maryland Cannabis Administration

Please Enter Your Birthdate

You Must Be Over 18 To Proceed